“The Very Hungry Caterpillar”

Hi There!
Our next lapbook, I put together for my 8yo Son and my 4 year old daughter.
I was inspired to make it for them by this lovely lady over http://www.lapbooklessons.com/
This is her “Very Hungry Caterpillar Lapbook.”
I thought hers was FABULOUS and WONDRFULLY done!
So I wanted to make one similar for our children.
This one is Melissa’s (Ours will be posted after Hers).

Find more videos like this on Lapbook Lessons

Souls In Movement’s  “Very Hungry Caterpillar” Lapbook:

Okay how we made the Lapbook starting with the cover…
I used http://www.geocities.com/aslansavz/lpvhc.html for the egg on the leaf and caterpillar on the leaf I cut them out of the Butterfly sequencing cards. I used this site for part of the cover as well http://www.dltk-teach.com/books/hungrycaterpillar/felt_fun.htm a couple of the pages I think I printed more than one. You can see throughout the lapbook. (I also used dental floss instead of yarn).
Inside first section:
Or you can use fruit from here if you wish:
In The next section where I have the green folder velcroed shut:
I used these templates (the story) to make the days of the week game from:
The butterflies for the days of the week match I found here and put the days of the week names in them.
I made the pocket to hold the days of the week in from scrapbooking paper. Same with the itsy bitsy book pocket and now walmart has clear velcro dots, I spent 4.37 or so on two boxes which gave me 40 dots. The butterfly as decoration on that right green flap is clipart.
The itsy bitsy letter C book is from:
The food pyramid book is from here:
When you close the green section you have a Caterpillar Math Game or the Caterpillar Counting game or both from:
The poems and songs are from here:
I also went to dogpile.com and searched caterpillar and butterfly songs or poems and I did the same thing for days of the week and months.
In the center section:
The days of the weeks to write or practice writing are from:
All I did with the poems and songs is use scrapbook paper behind and template from homeschoolshare.com
The days of the week Mini book holder/pocket is from:
The itsy bitsy days of the week books inside I edited myself for my children but, they can found at kidzone.ws site above for itsy bitsy mini books.
The Last Section:
The months I found here:
Songs from canteach.ca
the recommened song and poem site above.
The clipart on the last page was from the sequencing cards from the above site.
The pocket for the butterfly book I made out of cardstock and measured and cut it to fit. Then glued the items from dltk-kids.com on the front.
The butterfly life cycle book is from:
The butterfly color match from here, I edited to add colors:
I think that’s it to make your own!
Hugs,
*~*Sheila*~*
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The Very Hungry Caterpillar”

  1. Bugaboo Baby & You says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this with all the links. I am going to make this for my kids!

  2. Melissa Ringstaff says:

    I love this lapbook! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

